top of page

Meditating on Creativity - What makes a writer




With #LondonScreenwritersFestival365 kicked off with a bang, have you ever wondered what makes a #writer? Are we just extra creative because we read more, or were dropped on our heads as children?

Whatever it is, it gives us a drive to put things down on paper, those feelings and emotions that would otherwise be cooped up inside, screaming like extras from ‘Poltergiest’ and fighting their way to; get out, unnerve the dog and boot that blasted clown to perdition, or at least the nearest local housing estate built on an ancient Indian graveyard with no local TV reception.

But what if you can’t write and are blocked? What respite can you get to make yourself feel - and for that matter - write better?

I don’t know about the rest of you but normally I’m pretty upbeat, even ‘chipper’ but with Covid-19 and being stuck in, I’ve found myself fluctuate between euphoria at extra time to write, lethargy with being contained and on the odd occasion, that feeling of having more blues than the Devil’s crossroads on a Wednesday, when the devil’s stolen all the guitars and stomped on your toes for kicks.

So, for me, it was a joy when @ChrisJones announced that we’d have #PattiGood and #LouisaCaine to come along and give us a few meditation sessions.

The closest I’ve got to meditation is the odd yoga class and a bash at pilates, where they didn’t appreciate the; eye patch, parrot and stretching ‘Arrrrrrrgh’ noise… which was why I wanted to see how #therapist, teacher and spiritual healer Patti approached educating cynics like me.

You can tell Patti worked in Harley Street for years by her calming manner and dulcet tones. Louisa has one of those voices that lull you into listening. Thus, when she started us off with a few gentle neck stretches and waving our arms like birds, I went with it, thinking ‘Okay, soothing’ and ‘Here we go’.

Anyway, by the time, we focused on breathing, where our breath came from and how being in tune with ourselves can help our writing… I was in for the ride. Anything, that promises to help generate #ideas can only be good, right?

Patti classes her gift as ‘lighting a path’ for her clients and by the time she had us assess the level we felt out of ten happiness wise to start, to how we felt contentedness wise after, was a revelation.

Not being a tech genius (I still can’t work chat on my phone), I couldn’t type how I was a ‘3’ when we started as I only learned I could see people when I tried to wipe a stray mark from #JulieGray during her ace audio book talk and suddenly saw other Muppets, sorry, delegates and stil couldn't find the chat.

So, sitting in the dining room, now covered in my husband’s work stuff, the ironing board and an ironing pile that would make a Sherpa faint, I learned about breathing in a square and began to feel, low and behold, calmer, centred and somewhere nearer to a 5/6, all from inhaling, holding, exhaling and holding. Who knew!

Relaxed I was able to settle down and write again, which brings me to #RobertJones, producer of Gosford Park and a veritable ton of other projects.

In Robert’s zoom talk he said that ‘The place you are in personally, or emotionally is so important to take note of so you can step back’ and ‘have perspective’ and it hit me, to find where we are creatively we need to allow ourselves time to take time, something not many of us allow ourselves to do.

When Robert pointed out the importance of visuals and stills. It made me think how Patti grounded us to do the same, focus on: an object, sound, smell etcetera and how all these things are important for meditation but help our #visual writing too.

It clicked more when Robert said ‘paint a picture with your writing’ and ‘Breathe writing’, that in order for me to take care of a script, I have to take care of myself too.

To all of you who have had a hard time being stuck in, be kind to yourself, take time, find your voice and ‘Write, write, write.’

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page