top of page

Drawing in an Audience


I've not done a blog for a bit so sat down and wondered what to write about. After a lot of humming and hemming I came up with 'How do you draw in an audience?' which is a big question for both writers and filmmakers.

As a writer, I sit in front of a computer and have an idea that I try to make as visual as possible before I put it out there and try to see if I can get a producer, or someone, anyone, interested in the concept that's popped out of nowhere and ended up as my script. So, how do you get someone interested in your screenplay? ...Without waiting outside of their work with a getaway car and 'duck' tape? (Okay, I know that it's 'duct' but it's been a long day, alright!)

First of all, I'd say you have to have a decent concept. If the idea itself doesn't work and you can't pair it down into a simple line, or two, you need to go back to the drawing board.

Sound out your idea on other writers, see if it has legs and if other people think it's interesting. Once you have something solid, groom that script like your life depends on it being super sleek like a price race-horse.

I'd also say find a hook that draws people in, whether that be through; making them laugh, or showing them compassion and empathy. You need an emotion that will connect with your reader and viewer to make them enjoy what you've done and relate to it. As humans, we read and view to experience other people's viewpoints and emotions, so having characters with different voices can really draw people in to your work. A lot of characters become clichéd over time, so by avoiding stereotypes and trying to be original, you can be a step ahead of someone whose characters all have the same voice, or voices that we have all heard before.

Next come networking and pitching. There are lots of writers groups around to join and the more people you connect with and festivals you attend, the more people you can chat with and talk about your script ideas with. You never know who knows whom and where a mentioned idea can lead to someone remembering you further down the line. The joy of networking is that you make friends too. It's not about using people to get what you want but creating valuable connections who may be happy to help you as they care, care enough to lend you a balaclava!

When you are lucky enough to have a script idea taken on and made, be amenable. The easier you are to work with, the more likely you are to work again. So, hide the duct tape and return that white van, abduction is not an option.

Once you are optioned and your film is made, drawing is important for the poster too, especially if you are a DIY indie production. You want something that will grab people's attention and also suit the mood of the film. If you are writing a tear jerker set to star Meryl Streep, (You wish!), you don't want a picture of her falling over on neon Comic Sans writing. You need to choose the graphics and text to fit the idea. Likewise, if you've written a comedy for Jack Whitehall (Here, boy!), you don't want something with straight text and a serious picture that doesn't lend itself to the style.

Be open to new visions, sharing ideas and bending your original concept to draw on your producer, director and team's views too. Movies are a collaborative work and the more open you are to listening and taking onboard suggestions from others, the better the idea can become. My current short casting came from a short two page script my producer liked. I had four or five bashes at it before he and the director took it on. They wanted to keep my vision of the character but see if they could go further with it and I was glad to do that for the experience and the credit. It's not easy giving away your metaphorical baby but like any child it's a product of its environment. So, I look forward to seeing it when it's made and learning from that too, then I can draw on what I learn for the next project that I head to.

It's all about drawing on what you have and doing the best you can to make it appeal to the masses. Anyway, I hope I drew your interest and if not, there was always a duck! (Off to return the balaclava! Now where did I park that van?)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page