top of page

Staying Composed


When you start out as a writer you have a blank page. That blank page, with a bit of luck, turns into a script but what happens next?

Once you have a producer, director, you've got your cast, crew and a piece of film edited, where do you go from there?

Sound.

You want your audience to connect with what you've written on every level. A film is not just about your words (much as you'd love it to be), it's about 'The Big Picture'. Film and TV are a collaboration which is why I got together with talented composer and pianist Annabel Bennett to talk music.

Music can make, or break, the feeling of what you watch and Cornwall composer Annabel has a list of credits as long as my arm to prove it. She has worked on pieces for everyone from super chef Michel Roux (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TirlANMIWvg&feature=youtu.be) to the hearty folks at 'Countryfile'.

Her tracks 'Sailing Ships' and 'Snowie Days' take me to the quayside on an autumn day and to a warm lodge watching snow fall as I drink hot chocolate and snuggle down to scribble. You can follow her on Soundcloud now.

Her music has been used to raise money for breast cancer with her emotive piece 'Look in the Mirror'. It shall be used for 'Walk the Walk'. The composition inspired by her own Mum's fight with the disease, is a soothing melody intended to make people think and also relax. (The Moonwalk is Saturday 11th of May from Clapham Common.) Post the link to your browser if you would like to find out more: https://walkthewalk.org/about-us/media/cornish-composer-makes-music-in-aid-of-breast-cancer

On that note... Sorry, you know I love a pun, I got 'Bach' to Annabel and posed her a few questions.

So, Annabel, when did you start playing music and when did you start composing?

I started playing when I was six and then writing about six years ago. This was after my dad died. He was also a musician.

What is your favourite piece of music and why?

I adore the BEE GEES! 'How deep is your love' is very emotive.

(Speaking of emotion, I love where a song is chosen that can enhance a scene. For example the bit in ‘Man from UNCLE’ where Solo in the shipyard and waits in the lorry with the lorry drivers vitals. He drinks from the bottle while we see Illya chased in the background, the music suits the location and is laid back, a perfect contrast with the chaos going on outside. Ed.)

Which begs the question, which film scene music do you most admire and why?

I admire 'Ladies in lavender' because it is set in Cornwall and is about an undiscovered musician. It is a feel good 'rainy day' movie.

Who, or what would you most like to write music for?

I would like to write for Steven Spielberg and be the new John Williams .

Where do you find your inspiration?

I really don’t know were my music comes from it just flows out.

Have you had any challenges as a female composer in what has often been a male dominated industry?

I have had a few things happen in the past that I think were because I was a woman and was, perhaps. not taken seriously. Often, it is not just men that judge woman in my experience, woman in power don’t like to be seen to be helping other woman. I am not a feminist per se, I just think if something is good enough it should make no difference if it is by a male, or a female.

I think that my type of music people hear differently if they think it's a man who has written it rather than a woman . I found in the past that if I was ignored as a woman with a piece of music, if I changed the name of the score and put it under a mans name it was used, maybe I’m just paranoid? (As long as they're not following us! Hee! Ed.) Most musicians are. It is a very tough business.

If you could teach a celebrity to play/improve who would you chose and why?

One of the guys from 'Yes' did a recent album that seemed as if it had no thought in it. If you are going to do covers make them your own, you can not treat the public like idiots they are not. It may seem harsh but it's true.

How do you think music can influence the shortest of films?

The right music can instantly create the feeling of the visual. It goes both ways too, sometimes the visual makes a piece of music come to life.

When you choose a job, what’s more important to you; the fee, the prestige, or the chance of emotional creativity?

Being a composer is the same as being a painter or sculptor, you just want to get your art out there for other people to hear. Music can help people right down to their soul. Money is last on the list, I may be a woman but I'm not only about shopping, even if I like shopping.

With our chat concluded, I went to write and Annabel went shopping for 'Quavers'!

(Comedy writer. Sue me!)

Paste this link to listen to a selection of Annabel's musical compositions on SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-685039193?utm_source=soundcloud&utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=email


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page