top of page

A tale of two kitties!


Anyone that knows my friend Emma will know that she has a rather pampered puss called Rupert. What many people may not know, is that Rupert was one of the inspirations for her new children's story 'Kitty Stuck', one of several original books from ground-breaking 'A Spark in the Sand Publishing'.

But how did Emma Pullar, author of Dystopian novel 'Skeletal' go from dark YA horror to a charming picture book and how does daughter, Beth, fit into the picture?

I grabbed old Pully by the pigtails and bribed Rupert with super-size 'Dreamies' for some answers. When they wouldn't speak to me, I got hold of 12 year old Beth to give us the low down on what goes into making a vibrant, accessible picture book.

So, Beth, what are the ingredients to make a good picture book?

I think bright colours are good and fun illustrations that kids can have a go at drawing themselves. Stories that rhyme are popular, I think.

(Also add 'Dreamies', lots and lots of 'Dreamies - Rupert)

How did you get involved with illustrating and had you had any experience drawing beforehand?

My Mum asked if I wanted to draw a picture for her book and I like drawing a lot so I did it and she sent it to the publisher. I have a few followers on Sketch now, which I enjoy using. I practise a lot on apps and on paper.

So, what was it like working with your Mum and Rupert? And who, if any, was the bigger diva?

It was fun working with them. Normally, I'd say Rupert but actually, I think I was the biggest diva. The illustrations are the most important, right?

(Darling, I have my own following - Rup.)

How difficult was it for your Mum to go from writing something dark to something lighter?

Well, it wasn't that difficult because Mum wrote a picture book before called 'Curly from Shirley'. ('Curly from Shirley' was a national bestseller and named best opening lines by New Zealand Post.) She has written loads, actually. She tests them out on me and my little sisters.

How do your siblings feel about your success and do they want to be involved in the next project?

They are super happy. They love 'Kitty Stuck'. Both like drawing but it's super hard to do twenty-eight illustrations. Maybe when they are older they might like to try.

How did your school friends react to seeing your name in print?

They think it's pretty cool. My best friend said 'Oooooooo'.

Now that Rupert is 'famous' has he changed?

No, he's still a lazy butt.

(How dare you! I resemble that statement. Zzzzzzzzzzz.)

Would you like to do another book and if so, would you work with your Mum, or Rupert again?

Yes and yes!

"Kitty is a calamitous cat who keeps finding himself in sticky situations. Luckily, his loving family help him get unstuck". A simple and charming tale to engage youngsters through delightful rhyme and illustration.

'Kitty Stuck' is available on Amazon in paperback now.

You can follow Emma at her website at http://www.emmapullar.com.

A Spark in the Sand is dedicated to encouraging young people to pursue their dreams, both by publishing works created by young people and through books which engage their imagination and inspire them to 'Dream Big and Work Hard'.

You can follow them via https://www.asparkinthesand.co.uk/ and to access the amazon link...

Send 'Weebox' to Sir Rupert Pullar at...(Paws off of my laptop, cat - Ed), https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kitty-Stuck-Ruperts-Reads-Pullar/dp/1999824040/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1532961450&sr=8-1&keywords=kitty+stuck

Does anyone know how to prise a cat from a keyboard?

Think the furry blighter's stuck!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page