top of page

Prime and Punishment


January, it's cold and dreary and there's not much on the TV. What to do?

If you're anything like me, you write a bit .. which translates to scribble a couple of pages, browse social media and drink numerous cups of tea. Then when that avenue of 'writing' is exhausted you head over to 'Amazon' where low and behold, what do you spot but Scotland's own 'Cops and Monsters'. Chuffed to see a locally grown web series head to 'Prime' you go on-line to see the latest news - Well, you have to keep up with 'writing', don't you? - and low and behold Twitter's own Philip Lawrence is listed as one of the new writers for Season 2 and couldn't happen to a nicer guy. (Jealous, moi! Non!)

Anyway, since he beat me out of the running with those pointy elbows of his, for his punishment I tripped him up and got him to agree to a blog. That will sort him!

So, Phil, what first made you get into writing? And what kind of things do you like to write?

I’ve always written. I was brought up on Star Wars and Doctor Who so had my head in the clouds and spent my time coming up with grand space epics. One year at school we had a string of supply teachers for English so while everyone else mucked about, I ploughed on with an ongoing adventure series about ten aliens righting wrongs in the galaxy. But it was always something I did in the background for fun. It took decades to realise I should do it as a job.

I like to write the sort of things I enjoy to watch (I guess we all do) so poignant comedy drama or dark character dramas. After writing other worlds for 'Big Finish’s Doctor Who' most of my spec scripts have been totally down to earth so it’s wonderful to be with Cops And Monsters writing the fantastic again.

How did you get involved with ‘Cops and Monsters’ and what would you like to see your contribution lead to?

I discovered it like many probably do, via twitter. I watched a couple of episodes, loved the characters and concept and was really impressed by the passion behind it. I got chatting with Fraser (C&M’s creator and driving force) because I’d written a spec about something really similar and had been told by an agent that no one was looking for supernatural stories. They were wrong, obviously. There’s always a massive audience for genre stories!

When my pal, Roland Moore, wrote the Christmas special (which was awesome and opened out the C&M world a bit more) it made me wonder if they might be interested in other writers in the future, so when the shout-out came via BBC Writersroom I jumped at it. Luckily I didn’t disgrace myself too much in the interview so I got the gig.

As to where it will lead for me, obviously it is a first actual screenwriting credit. I hope it will open doors and show that I can deliver, but right now I’m concentrating on delivering and enjoying playing in the rich C&M world.

Which character do you most identify with and why?

I’d love to say Alexis – a tortured soul struggling with her identity as both vampire and werewolf, desperately trying to find her place in a world that hates her. Growing up as a gay man when it wasn’t as widely discussed, I know what it’s like to have to pretend to be something you’re not and have that fear of being yourself. And sadly I don’t think things have really changed enough on that score for many people. I’m fascinated by stories of identity and duality.

The reality though is that I’m probably more like Commander Norris – the older guy who should know better, floundering as the world shifts around him.

Ed. A couple of years to go there, Phil, my lad.

When can we hope to see Season 2?

Hopefully, if all goes to plan later this year.

Since he's being amenable and hasn't wiggled out of my demon grip, I chance my luck for another couple of questions.

So, which writers inspire you?

So so many. There are the obvious big hitters like Mike Bartlett (Doctor Foster), Jack Thorne (Kiri), Kay Mellor (Girlfriends), Sally Wainright (Last Tango) – really talented and successful writers who turn up with something amazing and different every time.

But there are also the ‘unsung’ heroes of British drama who are the real powerhouse of the industry for me, the people that come in and write episodes across a bunch of shows. People like Mark Catley (whose EastEnders scripts make you laugh) or the wonderful Jeff Povey (Casualty/The Musketeers) who’s amazingly prolific.

To be honest though, anyone that’s getting up and doing it, being hit by rejection after rejection but still ploughing on is an inspiration.

If you could work with anyone who would it be and why?

Apart from the folks mentioned I’m not sure I have a specific dream list, I simply want to work with amazing, creative, hardworking people (Fortunately there are lots and at all levels!)

But writing something that *is* going to be made does make you think about casting. Fraser tweeted Les Dennis the other day and he seemed keen. I must say in the darkest recesses of the back of my head I am thinking a) how amazing would that be??! And b) What kind of vampire would he make?

(Groovy and a stealer of 'Family Fortunes'?)

Since I know Philip can get a leg on when needed, my next question will determine if I ever need to catch up with any of the 'C&M' team.

Which of your fellow writers could you beat in a running race?

Ha ha! I have no idea. Simon Underwood has long legs. I tend not to think of running as a race, more as a way of being the best I can be rather than trying to be better than others. I’m a team player. Though I am hugely competitive on the quiet…

So, would you rather be a werewolf, vampire, or hard working member of PITS?

Let’s not forget the Zombies, though shuffling isn’t really my style... yet. I think I’d rather be a vampire. Werewolves seem to suffer under their ‘affliction’ whereas vampires have made a virtue out of it. They’re cool, dignified but total animals underneath. I do love the dynamic in Cops And Monsters, their pride in the face of oppression. Sophie Aldred as Lady McDiarmid portrayed that really well, I think.

If you got the chance, how would you feel about learning some of the ninja moves?

I’m up for anything but I wouldn’t want to embarrass the poor person trying to teach me. I’d better leave that to the experts.

Ed. I'll return the headband then?

Finally, what’s the best writing tip you can give to the rest of us?

I’m no expert, everyone’s still learning as they go aren’t they? Even Steven Moffat said he starts each script trying to remember how to do it.

I was always told “Write every day” and “Write what you know”. I’d reiterate those but they need qualifying.

“Writing” isn’t just putting pen to paper or coming up with witty dialogue. It’s also coming up with stories, thinking, plotting. Just keep doing it every day, make it your main focus.

And “write what you know” doesn’t mean write your life story. It’s about going into yourself and finding those things that terrify you, embarrass you, make you angry. The stuff we bury. That’s your unique perspective, your voice and people are dying to hear it.

But above all, never, ever give up.

With that, he wriggles from my grasp, gives me a cheeky grin and sets off for the long-haul because that's what writing is a long-haul that's best taken on in your prime.

I holler 'Good Luck' to the back of his trainers and go back to 'writing' inspired.

Previous episodes of 'Cops and Monsters' are available both on Prime and on-line.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page