top of page

Coughing for Shorts


Well, that's a turn up! No, I'm not back rabbiting about those grey Bermudas with the the black fleck, today I'm talking networking and funding.

On my previous blog with short script editor Jane (www.janehamer.co.uk2) I said how important networking was and collaborating with people you know in the industry. It's like building a chain and working out which link fits best. Then you can take a huge run at the fence and leap over the top like something from 'The Great Escape', or more likely, have a first attempt, get a foot up and cling like a limpit so you're not tugged backwards by the nape of the neck.

For example, I write something, send it to someone. ask them to take a look, they look, give a reaction and I work on it from there. I then do the same for them in return, or something that helps them. It pays it forward and we help one another. Boom! Karma! It boosts both parties confidence in their projects (and abilities) and reinforces connections to people who care about the same thing, notably telling and making stories, whether that be for book, film, or television.

Alternatively - if you've the money to pay for a professional - you cough up, take the advice offered, be grateful for it and move on from there.

Anyway, with advice from the effervescent Jane and marvellous Melanie, the short-filmmaker, (Check out her work here: vimeo.com/melaniemahdessian) by Draft 5 my short script was looking less like dog-eared homework and more like a professional shooting script.

With that in mind, I thought - No time like the present. Not dead yet! - and sent it on to an actor/director that I know and beat the jungle drums to a couple of producers.

When my first contact said it was 'awesome', I was tickled before coming back to earth with a bump. Even with someone onboard to act and direct, the next steps are the difficult bits.

You need a producer, editor and the all important funding. I'm not Carnegie, I don't have a roaring bank balance and £200 every time I pass 'Go'. So, if like me, you're the stereotypical impoverished writer, where do you go next? How do you get someone to cough for your shorts? (Once again, the film ones, not the Bermudas!)

Well, I put a shout out on FB and asked. Those little links fell into place again and I was pointed, cajoled and veritably shoved up the fence towards places that do film funding.

The biggest and best are BFI and BAFTA who roll out funding opportunities for short and feature film makers throughout the country, throughout the year.

The BFI have an initiative called Postroom where scriptwriters can submit their scripts and a professional will have a look. Winning scripts can be put forward for funding from anything between about £3,000 to £10,000. So, back to the learning curve, I applied. It wasn't rocket science. It didn't take long and if I can do it, anyone can do it. (Whether I'm lucky, or not, is in the hands of the Gods, or at least, the Postroom executives who may crush me like a grape!)

Guided by another LSF friend, I found a shout out on a site for Woman in Film for a programme called 'London's Calling' too. This is a funding initiative for London based directors and makers of film. It doesn't matter if the writer is not London based as long as the director, or filmmaker is. With that in mind, I let my contact know as that's all you can do. Reach out and if something comes of it great, if not you've tried.

Three producers have kindly got back to me, one offering to phone and two sending e-mail advice. I only know these people from social networks and LSF. The brilliant thing about even hearing is that it shows that all of us are one happy family, trying to push each other higher over that fence towards getting something written then made.

No one wants to cough for your short, no one has to help you but if you are willing to try, you may get higher up the fence than you expect. So, collaborate, network and have a bash. Now where are those shorts! The sun's out!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page