top of page

Feeling short!


It's August, the sun's shining, bees humming and I'm remarkably chipper as I've been fortunate enough to have two of my short - under ten minute - films made this summer and both producers have been willing to let me be on set. Huzzah!

The first shot was in Berwick with a producer with oodles of experience on large sets, who was excited to do something smaller, while the second was in Aberdeen with a producer who has a slew of amateur films under her belt and has gained directorial skills on the way.

It's been a really interesting experience for me in terms of seeing the cinematography. The first short was made with two cameras and the second with only one. So, I've been able to see the challenges film-makers face setting up and moving cameras to try to get different shots and angles. Where you can see a conversation from both sides if you've two cameras, on a smaller shoot, it means thinking about having the camera adjust to get that second shot, which means refocusing for the monitor and changing position for the sound and boom.

On our kitchen set the boom was not so big, perhaps half a foot. Filming in the park, we looked like we'd caught some sort of stoat and shoved it up a flagpole, a heavy flagpole that the poor sound guy had to hold at height long enough to not let the grey ferret thing float into shot and spoil the take.

The DP on the first set had umbrellas and light boards to get the best of the inside setting on an overcast day, while on the second set it was a bright, sunny day but we couldn't use the whiteboard inside as there was nothing to reflect from.

With the first script, I got director's notes, expanded it and we discussed it all piece by piece so it was in the shooting script. With the second, we once again, went over the script together to make it more visual but once the storyboard was done by the director, it was shot more out of sequence than it was written to make it cohesive within the timeframe of the plot.

My first script had no proper set up to what I had written, so I was glad to have a director with the vision to set it up with an opening image. The script became longer because of this. With the second script, the film may extend past it's four pages (equating to four minutes) because it has music and it allows the sequence to be played and help to establish the story.

On the first set, we were in a lovely home and started shooting before ten in the morning, so we didn't have to worry about intrusion by outsiders. In the park, we arrived about seven in the morning but still had to contend with; dog walkers, joggers and cars parking where we needed to shoot the outside scenes. We had a sealed corridor for the main part in the Winter Gardens. In saying that, in the height of summer that meant lots of kids playing and shouting outside, competing with a horse show and an up coming wedding. The staff were wonderfully helpful, but by the end of the day, I got quite good at the charades for film and quiet. It felt a bit mean to the kids outside but meant that, hopefully, the sound didn't have to be redone for the takes and ambient takes. So, sorry to anyone that wanted to play at the little fountain as we had to get it turned off to stop the sound. It was like interference. It's something I'd never really thought of before but I suppose with each experience you learn something new to take away from it.

A shooting day is long with lots of standing, so comfy shoes were a must and I was grateful I learned that in Berwick and was in loose, comfortable clothes for the heat.

They say to never work with children, or animals but in Aberdeen I found myself as not only observer but dog wrangler. (If it's a long day for us, imagine what it's like for a poor pooch during the hottest week of the year!) So, while it was great to enjoy filming, I also got to meander round the park and to take a break from waiting between shot set-ups.

In both instances, it is harder for the cast than myself, depending on costume. It's not fine sitting around in clothes that aren't yours, or sitting in your own clothes but somewhere really hot, or cold. Luckily, both teams I worked with were considerate of everyone and had water and snacks on stand-by for both actors and animal. They also kept up the enthusiasm and good humour which really helps if it's a long day.

Filming may seem glamorous but if you are on a schedule it means arriving on time and having all the equipment and cables necessary to plug in. You have to have breaks and mealtimes scheduled into your shooting day. If you are organised you don't over-run on time which can cost depending on where you shoot. Even if you are in someone you know's property, you don't want to overstay a welcome either. This is why a good table-read and rehearsals save time later as everyone knows what they need to do.

On the first set, I was extremely nervous as it was all new and I almost drank from one of the props! This time I was able to help a bit more. If I spotted a stray flower, or something that was odd in shot that shouldn't be, I could point it out quietly, or move it when the camera was off to help. Otherwise I stayed quiet, I was observer and not director. Although, when it comes down to it, it's all a team effort. If the film is good it benefits everyone from the cast and crew through to the audience. For me, it was just a relief that everyone turned up who needed to and the planets aligned for everything to go to schedule.

All in all, it made me think about the amount of work lots of people have done for me. Neither of my producers, or their teams, had to take on my scripts to work with and I'm just grateful they did as I've learned so much from both of them. I've also met some lovely people who I respect and hope will remain friends. (Heck! They fed me, so now they won't get rid of me!)

'The Cliché' is currently in post-production and due out 2020 and as for 'Blind Faith', we've a voice over to do and then that will be in post too.

Am I feeling short? I may be but I'm walking six inches taller!

Photos show behind the scenes shots and table-read for 'Blind Faith', Duthie Park, Aberdeen, August 2019


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page